Scroll Top

The Beginning

If history is a record of past events, successes, challenges and accomplishments, the following presentation of the journey embarked upon by Eko Club Houston since its inception will no doubt provide an accurate of the major accomplishments and the challenges of this Organization since its formation in November 15, 1997.

Established on the 15th of November, 1997, Eko Club Houston’s formation is a brainchild of some Lagosians in Houston who had the vision to establish a forum for all sons and daughters of Lagos to discuss issues germane to the development of our beloved State.

  • 1. Otunba T.J Abass
  • 2. Mr. Mojeed Martins
  • 3. Mr. Segun Vaughan
  • 4. Miss Shade Onigbanjo
  • 5. Mr. Kareem Mujeeb
  • 6. Mr. Thomson Waheed
  • 7. Ms. Lawrence Christy
  • 8. Ms. Ogunmokun Adefunke
  • 9. Ms. Ogunmokun Sumbo
  • 10. Mr. Frank Gomez
  • 11. Mr. Layeni Musibau
  • 12. Mr. Emiola Rasheed
  • 13. Ms. Animashaun Fola
  • 14. Attorney Olu Otubushin
  • 15. Attorney O.J Lawal
  • 16. Mr. Moshood Olaribigbe
  • 17.. Mr. Adeniyi Adetunji
  • 18. Mr. O.Akerele
  • 19. Ms. Mulikat Smith
  • 20. Mr. Robert Irabor
  • 21. Ms. Tessy Uwaifo
  • 22.Dr. Olumide Agbesanwa
  • 23. Mr. Diran Willoughby
  • 24. Mr. Jubril Adelagun **
  • 25. Mr. Yesir Ganiyu **
  • 26. Mr. Mukaila Osagie **

Members whose name appear with a double asterisk (**) have since passed on. May their souls rest in peace.


The Organization held its first Inaugural meeting on November 15, 1997 at the Miguel Ball room of the Southwest Hilton Hotel in Houston Texas and the following officers were elected and charged with the responsibility of running the affairs of the Organization.

  • Mr Jubril Adelagun – President
  • Alhaji Mojeed Martins – Treasurer
  • Otunba T.J Abass – Secretary
  • Mr Jimmie Vaughan – P.R.O
  • Ms Shade Onigbanjo – Coordinator
  • Mr Yesir Ganiyu – Financial Secretary

The first Inaugural party for the association was held on the 23rd of December 1997 at the Mariam Restaurant.

The Organization held its 1st year anniversary anniversary and the official opening of the Ultra Modern Club House on December 5, 1998.